Classic Header


Header Ad

Breaking News


Kurt Okraku set for re-election as GFA President today

Mr. Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku is set to be endorsed as the President of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) in an unopposed bid, with the association's Extraordinary Congress taking place at the Redaach Memorial Hotel today in Tamale.

Mr. Simeon-Okraku, the current GFA President, is running without competition following the Appeals Committee's ruling to uphold Mr. George Afriyie's disqualification.

In October 2019, Mr. Simeon-Okraku secured his initial term as GFA President, triumphing over Afriyie. He succeeded Mr. Kwesi Nyantakyi, who resigned after a lengthy tenure, prompted by an investigative exposé by journalist Mr. Anas Aremeyaw Anas, alleging corruption.

The Congress, commencing at 9 a.m., will also select Executives to oversee GFA affairs for the next four years.

In addition to the Presidential position, delegates will choose five representatives for the Ghana Premier League (GPL) and three representatives for the Division One League (DOL). 

In the running for the DOL positions are five persons, namely; Mr. Mark Addo, Mr. Samuel Addo Anim, Mr. Eugene Nobel Nii Amon Noel, Mr. Gideon Fosu and Mr. Alexander Ababi.

Ten persons, namely; Mr. Kingsley Osei Bonsu, Nana Sarfo Oduro, Mr. Frederick Acheampong, Mr. Anthony Kwesi Aubynn, Mr. Ransford Anertey Abbey, Mr. Onyina Asenso, Mr. Edmund Kwabena Ackah, Mr. James Kwesi Appiah, Mr. Elloeny Amande and Mr. Raphael Yawiah Gyambrah are also contesting the five GPL roles.

Dr. Gifty Afia Oware-Mensah is running uncontested for the Women’s Football representative on the Executive Council.

The electoral process will also extend across ten regions, where regional delegates are slated to elect their respective Chairmen. Subsequently, two will be elected to serve on the Executive Council.

Mr. Samuel Aboabire, Mr. Simon Ehomah, Mr. Linford Boadu Asamoah and Mr. Mahamadu Abu-Hassan are running uncontested as respective Chairmen for Greater Accra, Western, Eastern and Northern regions. Also running uncontested are Mr. Daniel Agbogah, Mr. Yahaya Sadugu Daudi and Mr. Agyemang Osei Tutu, who are running uncontested as Chairmen for the Volta, Upper West and Ashanti regions respectively.

The race for Central FA Chairman is between Mr. Robert Otieku Duncan and Mr. Abdul Hayye Yartey; the Brong Ahafo FA Chairman role is being contested by Mr. Dickson Kyere-Duah, Dr. Charles Osei Antoh and Mr. Meshack Asante Ameyaw while Mr. Salifu Shaibu Zida and Mr. Abel Alonort Asoogo are running for the role of Upper East region FA Chairman.

FIFA's Director of Member Associations for Africa, Mr. Gelson Fernandes, is expected to be in attendance in Tamale, alongside other distinguished observers from the global football governing body, including FIFA Development Program Coordinator, Ms. Silmara Sousa and FIFA Member Associations Africa representative, Mr. Ahmed Harraz.

The trio arrived in Accra on Tuesday and made their way to Tamale early Wednesday morning in anticipation of today's congress.

No comments