Classic Header


Header Ad

Breaking News


Ejisu By-election: NPP announces timelines for parliamentary primary

The New Patriotic Party has announced a roadmap for the conduct of the parliamentary primary in the Ejisu Constituency about the upcoming by-election.

The death of the incumbent Member of Parliament, Dr John Kumah, necessitated the by-election. Dr Kumah died aged 45 after a short illness.

A press release dated March 29, 2024, said, “The New Patriotic Party, has approved the timelines for holding parliamentary primary by-election at Ejisu. The approved timelines are as follows:

Opening of Nomination -Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Closing of Nomination -Thursday, April 4, 2024

Election – Saturday, April 13, 2024

1. An Aspiring Parliamentary Candidate (APC) shall procure a Nomination
Forms after the payment of a non-refundable application fee of GHC
3,000.00 in Bankers Draft in favor of the NEW PATRIOTIC PARTY

2. To successfully file the nomination, an APC shall pay a non-refundable filing
fee of thirty-five thousand Ghana cedis (GHC35, 000.00) in Bankers Draft

3. However, Women, Youth and Persons With Disabilities (PWDs) who wants
to aspire to a higher political office will enjoy a 50% rebate on the filing fees.
This means they will be required to pay a non-refundable filing fee of
seventeen thousand and five hundred Ghana cedis – (GHC 17,500.00). For
the avoidance of doubt, a youth is a person whose age is between 18 and 40

4. No individual shall be denied access to purchase Nomination Forms.

The NPP named the Election Committee (EC) members as follows:
a. Mr. Danquah Smith Butey- Chairman
b. Mr. Bernard Antwi Boasiako – Vice Chairman
c. Hon. Patricia Appiagyei
d. Mad. Martha Kodua
e. Mr. Evans Nimako – Secretary
f. Chairperson of the Constituency Council of Elders.

g. All Constituency Executives (Ex-officio members).

The press release said, “The Party has also approved detailed Rules and Regulations to govern the conduct of the parliamentary primary election which would be made available to stakeholders. However, Nomination Forms will be available at the
Constituency Party Office for purchase.”

No comments